Madly in love with meringues

MER1

If there’s one thing I’m totally and utterly guilty of, it’s that I’m absolutely crazy about meringues. I used to make them constantly, switching the flavours, adding toppings, playing around with the proportions of egg white to sugar, testing different cooking times and temperatures (total meringue nerd – I know). I think all the sugar I was consuming was playing with my mind – I was totally addicted! I managed to wean myself off the gorgeously squishy little beauties, only to be suckered back in last weekend when I made a batch to photograph – eek, what have I done!

This time I decided to sprinkle cocoa on top so I didn’t lose the definition (in the shots) of the peaks of the mixture, and boy, were they tasty. So now it seems I have the bug back. I can’t wait to open that new box of eggs waiting for me in my kitchen and get cracking! Next on my list, hazelnut topped meringues flavoured with almond – watch this space!

MER 5MER2MER 4MER 3

2 Replies to “Madly in love with meringues”

Leave a Reply

